A Big Yawn but interesting to me

FalseTe

Ok, this has to rank as the most mundane (AKA boring) topic anyone has ever written or read about with the exclusion of our dentist friends, but here goes: last week my dentist told me I had a little bit of a cross bite. Then I told her, it’s funny that years of braces didn’t take care of that. And she said, “Sigh.” Then she said a person can have several “bites.” And I said, “OMG. I am closer to 60 than I am to 16 and I am JUST now hearing about this?” She said, “Oh yes, sometimes you bite down and that’s one bite, then  your teeth move a little bit as they settle in and that’s another, then, you start worry about having the right bite, and lo and behold they move into yet another position. So you don’t really have one “bite” like some people do, but it’s not uncommon.”

Just like being at the eye doctor and when he said, “Which lens is better- #1 or #2?” and you think there’s a right answer! I had thought that everyone else in the world just chomped their teeth together and voila! That was it. What was wrong with my mobile mouth? Nothing it turns out.

Further validation. Again at the dentist. The assistant said, “Well how does that tooth feel (the temporary crown)? Can you bite ok?” Uh. Fine. “Ok, let’s get you sitting up straight and have you bite again because your bite sitting up is different than your bite when you’re leaning back.” So there! One less thing to worry about- a plethora of bites is AOK!

 

 

Leave a Reply

