Bike Repair

schwinnbreeze

Schwinn Breeze by skvidal on Flickr
Just like at the car mechanic, I feel at the mercy of the bike repair guy. When I bring in my bike for a tune-up, and he brings out some sort of calipers and measures my chain, and announces that I am WAY overdue for a new chain ($15), I have no idea if he is telling the truth. So I tell him that. He recoils and says, “I am NOT a car mechanic. And if it was like that, I would also tell you to get a new this and this and this. And it’s only $15.”
No offense meant to bike repair guys or car repair folks- I am just rather in the dark here. So, I said, “Ok, let’s go with a new chain.”

Leave a Reply

